ST Hub v3 - network wifi / hub wifi

Hello - noob here, just beginning with ST. I have a v3 hub and connected it via Ethernet to my managed switch in my network rack. This is all located in laundry room in basement (corner of home). Not sure how far I’ll delve into all things smart etc…but I have the basics > cameras, multi purpose sensors, water sensors, lights, smart wifi plugs and just beginning to set everything up.

Question: In my scenario do all the devices communicate via my home wifi mesh network (then to the hub) or are they hunting for the hub’s wifi directly? My home network for both Ethernet and wifi is strong. I kinda like the major items hardwired but that’s just me.

If all ST devices are trying to communicate to the hub directly, I may think about moving the hub to a more central location before I get to far into all this. Although I have only set up a sensor and light thus far, they are all communicating / working so far.

Thanks!

Welcome!

Well the first thing id offer is read up on ZWave and Zigbee protocols for Home Automation. You will quickly find that if you want local automation to work you’ll probably be using thise protocols and the products that support them (like your SmartThings Hub)

ZWave and Zigbee are wireless low power mesh networks different from your WiFi so you hit it right on… Centrally located hub.

Both Zigbee and ZWave mesh networks are strenghhened by powered repeating devices (usually just a ZWave or Zigbee device that is not battery powered) so building out your mesh includes strategies for placing powered repeaters.

1 Like

Your hub isn’t using Wi-Fi at all in that configuration. Even if you had it connected via Wi-Fi instead of ethernet, it would just be another end device as far as all your other Wi-Fi devices are concerned, no different from a tablet or a game console or anything.