GE Smart Dimmer Switch and Bulbs question

(Marcus) #1

I’m new to Smartthings. I recently installed a GE Z-Wave Plus Wireless Smart Lighting Control Smart Dimmer, In-Wall in my home office. I also brought 4 Hyperikon A19 Dimmable LED Light Bulb, 9W (60W Equivalent) from Amazon as well to go with the switch. I am very impressed with the Alexa capability; however, when using the switch to dim the bulbs to anything less than 90%, I start to hear a faint buzzing sound coming from the bulbs. I’m guessing the bulbs aren’t really compatible. Can anyone point me in the direction of some compatible bulbs that would eliminate the buzzing I am experiencing? Also, I prefer cool lights 4000K (Daylight Glow) or anything close to pure white. I do not like the yellow tinted lights.

(Mark) #2

I use mostly cree dimmable LED bulbs and haven’t noticed any issues with buzzing. Pretty sure they come in cool white, but I prefer warm white myself.

(Nathan Curtis) #3

Dimmable LEDs don’t guarantee that you will get non buzzing dimmable LEDs. I had to try 5 brands at Lowes before I found ones that didn’t buzz. I found for me that the ones made with miniature LED strips that simulate the old Edison style / filament bulbs are silent. They have the added benefit of looking great. It’s the bulb of choice for all of my ceiling fans… Unfortunately every time I find a soft white LED dimmable bulb at Lowes that doesn’t buzz they seem to switch brands and I have to start the hint all over again. Also just because one size in a certain brand doesn’t buzz, doesn’t mean they all won’t… (I’m looking at YOU Sylvania…)

(Kirk Hilzinger) #4

I have been getting some 60-Watt equivalent LED clear with the LEDs that look like filaments at Home Depot. I also got some 100-Watt equivalent from Menards. They have been working great. Something I would encourage: Look on the box. The boxes should tell you if they are dimmable. Take it home and test one. If they work, great. If not, return it.