GE Remote (45600 or 45633) with Honeywell VAM

Has anyone determined a way to turn on and off groups of lights on a Honeywell Vista Automation Module (VAM) using a GE 45600 or 45633 remote as secondary? If not can this be done successfully with a MinMote or any other hand held controller? I am new to Z-wave and have not seen anything that is very encouraging. I have tried the two remotes mentioned with poor results. Basically all on or all off. Any help would be appreciated.

I do not have a SmartThings hub in the mix. From what I think I understand, the VAM must be the primary controller since I am using it with Total Connect. The documentation for the VAM indicates Total Connect will not work if the VAM is a secondary controller. I am very new to Z-wave and with my limited knowledge would think many people would be using a hand held device as a secondary controller to control lighting. Getting out an iPhone and getting to the correct page etc. is not near as easy as using a single button push on a remote. I also really don’t understand the difference in Hubs. SmartThings hubs vs VAM don’t they do the same thing with maybe a little difference in flexibility? I assumed most hubs operated about the same with the manufacture competing by software upgrades. My VAM controls lighting automatically does scenes etc. what more could I ask for? Maybe I just don’t know what all could be done with a SmartThings hub. Any guidance you could give me would be very helpful.

I asked my questions here on the SmartThings forum because it appears to be the only place people are talking about VAM’s and Z-wave device compatibility. Everywhere else they just say the remotes don’t work. I can’t imagine there is not a remote that will work with a VAM to turn light groups on and off. It’s not really that hard to do is it? Again any info you can give would be greatly appreciated.