GE Light Switch (#12722) Blue LED scheduling

Is it possible to schedule the blue LED status indicator on the GE light switches? I know they can be manually changed based on switch status, but I would like to schedule them to be off during period X and on during period Y. If it is possible, has someone already written a smart app? Thank you, in advance!

2 Likes

It should be possible to write a SmartApp to schedule a call to change the indicator at a given time. The device has these three methods: indicatorWhenOn, indicatorWhenOff, indicatorNever.

2 Likes

I may be interested in something like that to use as a status light for another event. For example, if the mailbox was opened turn on the Blue LED of the livingroom switch to let you know there is mail.
Not a great example but something like that.
Scott

2 Likes

This is great news! However, I’m a noob a writing smart apps. What would I modify in the Once a Day app (by SmartThings)?

Do I change this:
section(“Select switches to control…”) {
input name: “switches”, type: “capability.switch”, multiple: true
}

to something like this:

section(“Select switch indicators to control…”) {
input name: “switches”, type: “capability.indicatorWhenOff”, multiple: true
}

Thank you for helping!

Give this one a try:

2 Likes

I would love this feature too! Would be nice to flash blue led light when there is a knock on the door. Or maybe constant on or blinking every 10 seconds to indicate alarm is armed.

Any suggestion for SmartApp to do this @obycode ?

The problem with those two use cases is that there is no option to turn it on. The three options are “never on”, “on when lit”, “on when not lit”.