Frame TV as HUB, disconnecting every 5 seconds (Feb 2024)

I’m going mad trying to get this resolved, especially as it appears almost no one out there is using the Frame TV as Smartthings hub. 2022 and newer versions have ability to act as a hub, and I also have the zigbee dongle as well. However, even Samsung support is clueless, they keep bouncing me back and forth between TV technical help and Smartthings, literally no one will help.

So I’ve been using the Frame as a hub for just a couple months now, only 3 zigbee devices and some others imported via connected services like Hue. No problems up until this week, I am getting endless notifications on my phone that my hub is going offline and online. 4 days now it won’t stop, no idea why. My TV is connected to the Internet, I’m constantly streaming Netflix, so I know it works. Even through ST app, I can talk to the TV fine, even upload Art no issues, yet the hub (which it lists in the app separately) just endlessly cycles offline and online.

I’ve power cycled everything, I even removed all connected services and devices except the zigbee ones. No idea what’s going on. Using an Eero router which is within 10ft of the TV.

Try connecting your tv with an Ethernet cable instead of wireless to see if the disconnects persist.

3 Likes

Zigbee and WiFi use the same frequency, but Wi-Fi is much much stronger. Consequently, strong Wi-Fi can interrupt Zigbee signals and drown them out, then causing devices to have to continually resend messages, trying to get through.

So you want to keep your strong Wi-Fi transmitters as far away from your Zigbee hub as possible, preferably at least 3 m.

So speaking as a former field tech, the first thing I would do is move the eero farther away.

The following may be of help. Start with message 11 in that thread (I will link directly to it) after reading it, go up to the top of the thread, and read the rest of the FAQ.

A Guide to Wireless Range & Repeaters - #11 by JDRoberts