For those using Liftmaster/Chamberlain MyQ

I know several threads exist here regarding these devices, and I know a device type was created by Adam… I have a new Liftmaster 8500 en route and my question are:

How well does this work? I am pretty sure it will open and close, but how is the state reporting? Is it as reliable as SmartSense multi?

The apps I use currently with the multi are:
1.) Notification that door is open when presence sensor reports away.
2.) Notification that door is open for over 30 minutes.
3.) Notification that door is open after sunset.
4.) Motion sensor turns on lights only when door is closed.
5.) Notification of door opening when away/at certain times.

Obviously, if I am gonna spend $50 on the gateway, I’d like to repurpose the SmartSense multi, but I am concerned that MyQ may behave similar to other third party integrations I have (thermostat, Hue) in so much that they never seem to refresh in a timely matter (or at all).

Funny you bring this up. This morning I had my first MyQ false “left open” alert. Other than that, after the initial setup the state reporting has been good for me. This is not something I look at every day on my android, but when I do check the state updates open/close quickly if the ST platform is healthy.

In my experience the bad state updates come from poor device type or smartapp handling. The current MyQ device type seems pretty good. But for whatever reason, IIRC the MyQ state was a little glitchy during the first few hours after initial setup but has been find since.

The stand alone MyQ app is no speed demon but it is a reliable and handy backup if you need it.