Fibaro Dimmer 2 (FGD-212) Pairs but Doesn't Work

(Adam Callaghan) #1

Hi all,

I hope this works. I’m new to ST (as in today!) and this is the first time I’ve ever joined a forum so please go easy on me. I don’t know if I’m posting in the right place so please move me if you feel the need.

I have successfully hooked up my hub and wired a Fibaro 2 Dimmer behind a standard UK light switch. The app pairs with the device but it doesn’t actually do anything. I believe the app is behaving as it should i.e. turn on/off works within the app but nothing happens to the light itself :confused: It’s wired up correctly as far as I can tell and the hub shows as connected within the phone app. I’ve had a good Google and the only page I could find was this:

Unfortunately the solution offered is way beyond my understanding although it appeared to work for the user with the same problem.

I have read a few articles on this site prior to investing in ST and it seems like a great community, full of knowledgeable people so I’m sure someone out there can help this noob out :slight_smile:

My level of understanding is very basic at the moment so please explain things nice and simple.

Thanks!

(Adam Callaghan) #2

Hello again,

I had another Google last night and read through a very long article that suggested implementing some custom code. I randomly clicked around and have managed to get the light working! This is the code I used:

No idea how I managed it but hey-ho.

I can now operate the light (on/off) from the ST app but dimming does not work. I’m assuming this is something to do with what is written in the code and using a different code would rectify this. My other issue is that the dimmer does not appear when I search for devices in the Alexa app. It did previously.

I’m kinda lost now! Does anyone know of the ‘best’ code for me to use which a standard UK light switch (up for off and down for on) that will allow me to use the dimmer with Alexa?

Thanks all!

(Robin) #3