Evalogik Z-wave outdoor plug fails S2 authentication

Hi everyone. I’m very new to SmartThings so I apologize for the “noob” question.

I was able to successfully connect my evalogik zwave outdoor plug to my hub, however I receive the following error message:

“Your device has been connected, but it isn’t using the highest level of security. For more security, exclude the device and try it again.”

After doing some googling, it looks like its failing to connect via S2 security. Under device status I see the following error " ZWAVE_S2_FAILED"

I’ve tried excluding the device and connecting it multiple times to no avail. The manual mentions a command class list which shows a command for class security 2, so I’m assuming S2 security is compatible with this device. Do I need to use a device handler to enable this feature?

From what I understand SmartThings did not offer any S2 support until a few months ago. Is this correct?

How concerned should I be with the lack of S2 security? I guess because the word “security” is involved, I’m a little worried about increasing the chances of unauthorized access. I’m not sure what S2 security offers vs S0 making it harder to truly understand everything.

Long story short should I be worried? And is there a way to fix this?

Which model hub do you have?

Honestly, Not much unless you are in very specific circumstances and expect to be an individual target. In which case you probably wouldn’t be using smartthings anyway. :wink:

S2 Allowed Z wave to start being used for UL listed security systems, like the one from ring, and that’s a good thing. But it’s unlikely that anybody is going to try and hack your light switches or pocket sockets, or that they could do much damage if they did.