Error troubleshooting

I am hoping someone can help me troubleshoot a problem for new user that downloaded my smartapp. I don’t know where to start helping him because I am not sure what error is being reported. What steps do I do to figure out what he is doing wrong?

Continuing the discussion from [RELEASE] 3 Speed Ceiling Fan Thermostat:

1 Like

I suggest using a Skype or Google Hangout session so you can do screen sharing, frankly. It’s sometimes the quickest way.

One not uncommon issue is for the user to be pasting the code for a DTH into the new SmartApp page, or vice versa!

1 Like

HELP Can anyone point me in the right direction please? @slagle

Is the ST messing with me but this error is totally out of my league and I need some direction

It helps, please, to share the entire code of the SmartApp or Device Type Handler.

Be sure to highlight and format it using the code icon on the editor toolbar (</>).

Thanks for helping. I’m kind of new to ST developing so I’m sorry but I am not exactly sure what you are asking me to share? Where is this “Be sure to highlight and format it using the code icon on the editor toolbar” Is there an example you can point me to so I do this for you?

This is where the entire smartapp code info is located including the GitHub link. I hope that is what you are asking?

Do you have all the proper meta data in the “Definition” section?

I believe I do. But you do bring up an interesting point. For some reason when I look in the IDE and I look at the App Settings, in Category I get “Choose a Category” but I entered in My Apps in the Definition section? So something must not be right there as well?

/*
   Virtual Thermostat for 3 Speed Ceiling Fan Control
   Copyright 2016 Dale Coffing

This smartapp provides automatic control of Low, Medium, High speeds of a ceiling fan using 
   any temperature sensor with optional motion override. 
   It requires two hardware devices; any temperature sensor and a dimmer type smart fan controller