Door 1 OR 2 open turn on light; door 1 AND 2 closed turn off?

(Chris C.) #1

Ok, so this sounds simple enough, but I was wondering if someone already did this in a smartapp somewhere? I have two garage doors and want to turn on the garage lights if either one is opened and then turn them back off when both are closed.
I’m kinda new to ST, and haven’t really coded anything but would give it a try if there was something I could possibly work from to learn. Any help greatly appreciated.

Chris

(Reed Taylor) #2

I have two doors into a single closet and wrote exactly this app. It’s quite simple, but does the job pretty well. Here’s the code:

/**
 *  Light Turn On Any Open
 *  Copyright 2014 Reed Taylor
 *  Licensed under the Apache License, Version 2.0 (the "License"); you may not use this file except
 *  in compliance with the License. You may obtain a copy of the License at:
 *      http://www.apache.org/licenses/LICENSE-2.0
 *  Unless required by applicable law or agreed to in writing, software distributed under the License is distributed
 *  on an "AS IS" BASIS, WITHOUT WARRANTIES OR CONDITIONS OF ANY KIND, either express or implied. See the License
 *  for the specific language governing permissions and limitations under the License.
 */
definition(
    name: "Light On while Any Open",
    namespace: "schmedlock",
    author: "Reed Taylor",
    description: "Turn a light on using a logical OR of some sensors being open",
    category: "Convenience",
    iconUrl: "https://s3.amazonaws.com/smartapp-icons/Convenience/Cat-Convenience.png",
    iconX2Url: "https://s3.amazonaws.com/smartapp-icons/Convenience/Cat-Convenience@2x.png")

preferences {
	section("When any of these are open...") {
		input "contact1", "capability.contactSensor", title: "Doors", multiple: true
	}
	section("Turn these on:") {
		input "switch1", "capability.switch", title: "Switches", multiple: true
	}
}

def installed() {
	log.debug "Installed with settings: ${settings}"

initialize()
}