DIY project: garage opener control with photoelectric sensor. Ideas needed

Hi, this is my first post since acquiring SmartThings a couple months ago. I’m not a developer but don’t mind tinkering with some devices and applications. I’ve perused the community regarding connected garage door openers and automation but not found what I have in mind. After reading about available solutions (roll-your-own relay and tilt sensor, go-control/Linear, Garadget, etc.) and looking at safety/usabiliy concerns, I’ve come up with my requirements as follows:

• would like something long-term reliable (go-control seems to fail regularly after time)
  • would like to use an existing device handler and/or smartapp (no coding by me)
  • don’t want to have to change batteries, so hard-wired open/closed sensor is preferred
  • want to operate on z-wave - trying to keep things simple and off my wifi network
  • want to execute locally, i.e. not via cloud integration and dependent on my internet connectivity

Given the above, wondering if anyone has thought about or done integration of a dry-contact relay, z-wave outlet, and hard-wired photo-electric sensor (ala Garadget where I would mount laser or photoelectric beam with a reflector on the door) so I could open, close, and monitor status.

Would need an ingredients list (though I have some relays and a potential sensor in mind) and rough outline of how these components would be connected along with recommended app(s). Any ideas? Thanks!

This will be the tough one… I am curious how you plan on running this locally on the hub? Is SmartLighting capable of handling a hobbled together Garage Door Control set of devices? If not, even if the devices are able to run locally, the SmartApp will still be cloud-based.