Connect tuya lightbulbs and switches to smartthings

Hi guys,

I know this question has been asked quite a few times but with the recent changes to tuya and ifttt. Whats the best way to integrate tuya to ST?

I am quite new to the whole automation so may need abit more explanation lol.

1 Like

What other setup/things do you have?

Personally, I’m using Amazon Alexa to do it via virtual switches, which works flawlessly for me. This is the tutorial that I followed: https://thesmartcave.com/smartthings-with-any-alexa-device/
Essentially, Alexa can see the switches, and so I use her Routines to flip on/off virtual switches that ST can see.

I’m under the impression that Google Home does not have the same capabilities, but since I don’t have one set up (yet), I’ve only heard this second-hand.

Sadly I don’t have any other ideas past Alexa. Hopefully someone else can chime in with something else!

3 Likes

I have been using the same method as Stacie for a couple of months. Works well enough for my Tuya (Lohas) lights. But there is a delay of a couple of seconds from triggering the motion sensor to the lights coming on.
I have a raspberry pi coming tomorrow so I am going to look at upgrading the bulbs firmware to Tasmota. Just one to start with and if I can get that working and integrated into ST I will do the others.
Currently not sure if there is a method to bring RGB bulbs into ST this way though going by a comment I just read on another thread (to do with Tasmota Connect?). Trying to find more information as I type :slight_smile:

3 Likes

The best way is to flash them with Tasmota using Tuya convert OTA (you will need a Raspberry Pi) and then use the Tasmota connect smart app. Clean, simple, fast.

1 Like

Thanks. Do i need to do much coding with it? I heard rasberry pi home assistant can be complicated?