Compatible camera that stores on an external hard drive?

(Murshid) #1

I’m sure this is a topic that has been raised before but I’m new to smartthings and the forum so I’m struggling a bit here. I currently have a a DCS-2330L wifi camera which I am happy with apart from the fact that it can only hold a 32GB SD card. I would like a camera that I can connect to smartthings but can also connect and save it’s content on an external hard drive (preferably all wirelessly). If no such thing exists, then what’s the best alternative (cloud, etc) without having to pay a monthly subscription? Any help would be appreciated. Thank you very much

(Brian Diehl) #2

DLink makes a product that gives you NVR capability for cameras using USB hard drives.

http://us.dlink.com/products/home-solutions/mydlink-camera-video-recorder/

Currently it’s $80 on Amazon

If you really want one that will expand, you can go with the 9-channel option with 2 hard drive bays.

http://us.dlink.com/products/business-solutions/mydlink-network-video-recorder/

It’s available for $190 on Amazon

(Adrian Parker) #3

I’ve had really great success with ivideon. There’s a cloud based option you can pay for or just install the server on a PC in local LAN and record to hard drive

(Murshid) #4

Both great options there. Thank you very much @diehllane and @adeparker. Will research both

I use (free) iSpy64 for all my cameras. All recordings are stored on my network drive. Events such as motion, record start/end, offline,etc can all be reported to ST via a ST endpoint smartapp. Each camera I have has a ST virtual device associated with it (i.e. virtual motion sensor) .

(Murshid) #6

Thank you very much for that suggestion. What endpoint app do you use? Can you give me some more details please as I’m new to all this. Thanks again :smile: