Can I use an Aeons Lab Z-Stick in addition to my ST hub?

When I bought the ST hub, I assumed it would easily interface with computer-based HA software. When I started looking around, I discovered this wasn’t the case. I’m on a Mac and would love to run software on the Mac that would allow me to control my ecosystem. Although I’m very techy, I’m not a coder and I’m new to all this, but thus far I haven’t found any Mac-based HA software that will easily interface with ST. :frowning:

Indigo states that it interfaces easily with the Z-Stick, so I’m thinking of grabbing one of those. Will I be able to use it AND my ST hub? Or is it an either/or proposition?

Thanks for the Noob Tolerance!

I would look at @scottinpollock 's HAM Bridge first.

Already did. HAM Bridge works in the other direction; it allows you to control your Mac via SmartApp, but it will not facilitate control of the ST ecosystem from Mac.

You can use a REST Endpoint for the other direction.

1 Like

VERY helpful. Thx, Nick.

Okay, Nick’s suggestion is indeed helpful. For the first time, I can see my devices in a plain old browser window and click to effect them to take action. It’s a start, it’s great info to have, and I can see where one could customize this approach into almost anything.

But still, what if I want to use existing Mac-based Home Automation software instead? When I’ve envisioned HA, my vision has always been to have my master interface on a computer, not on a phone or tablet. The mobile device interface is of course useful, but in my mind it has always been secondary.

It would be a huge step forward IMHO to simply have the same ST control capability show up in a web browser or stand-alone computer app like we currently have on mobile devices. But I’d also prefer the ability to choose an existing HA software package.

We’re working on this but it isn’t something that will be released soon.

1 Like

Thx, Ben.