Button Press = Chime (Switch) on Zooz Smart Chime?

Hello -

Can anyone help??

I am looking for a smartapp that will allow me to select a “button push” at which point it will flip the switch on an actual device.

Use case…

Button is pressed on my Skybell
Chime inside house (set up as switch and working) will be turned on.

Period - end of sentence…seems to me that this is pretty basic (I am not a programmer) but man o man, it is driving me nuts - prob spent 4 hours looking for a way to accomplish.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Steve

Assuming the skybell has been set up in your SmartThings system

You can use the official smart lights feature to do this. You just pick the switch that you want to come on and then choose “button” as the trigger and select the skybell button there.

Although it’s called “smart lights” that feature can be used for any Switch, and that includes your chime. :sunglasses:

Hello JDRoberts,

Thanks, but this doesn’t work - been down this road. I have a feeling that as i am using the Zooz Smart chime, since it has a “light” feature, it trips over itself. I have the device handler working for it, etc…

I am however able to generate a “get notified when” message - press the doorbell, ST provides a notification that the button has been pressed, so i know i can get things to pull off the button touch…which is a step in the right direction.

Just looking for a button press / switch activation (non light related)

It’s Killing me…
LOL

Thanks…

Steve

You’re right, this Zooz is a complex device with multiple endpoints and doesn’t work quite as simply as the plain switch devices.

What device type handler are you using for the chime? That will determine what options are available for smartapps to use.

one specifically for the zooz smart chime that someone created -