Best Z-Wave switches?

Hi All,

I’m very new to the HA scene, and SmartThings as well, just purchased my 2.0 hub last week and a Linear Z Wave dimmer. I’ve been enjoying the control and integration (with both the App, phone sensor, and Amazon Echo integration). The benefits have convinced SWMBO that the rest of the HA project is a good idea, so I’ve been researching some of the first parts of my HA Purchase, which will be the dimmers/switches around the house.

My question is - is there a preferred brand of switches? The LInear brands are obviously attractive from a price standpoint, to fit the house out with GE switches I’m looking at ~30% higher cost. The GE switches also don’t support scene modes, which for several areas of the house I would prefer to have. THere are several negative reviews on amazon though which indicate the switches have some issues, and just stop responding at random times. Are the GE switches worth the premium? or any of the other brands?

Cheers,
-Matt

Welcome! (GE switches are actually the cheapest zwave switches at most retailers, btw.)

There’s no one right answer, it just depends on what important to you. Some people care more about reliability, some care more about saving money. Some have really strong aesthetic opinions, and may prefer blue LEDs over green LEDs or vice a versa. Ask five community members, you’ll probably get six opinions (counting one from the dog). :sunglasses: :dog:

The following thread has quite a bit about different brands, there are also more posts linked in the same thread but higher up, so browse around. (The following is a clickable link.)

1 Like

In ST, scenes (ones native to devices, etc) are also not supported in the fashion I think you mean. In ST, those are SmartApps like ones you create yourself, find within the community, or one’s ST has built in like Smart Lighting.