Best Practice Recommendation on Setting up Lighting Automation

There seems to be many options on how to turn lights on and off. Some are feature rich, some basic. I have been using SmartThings for a few years and I have lights that use different automation approaches. As such, it is very confusing. I want to wipe them all out and redo them. Is there a best practice guide on how to set up light automation? I have done a bunch of google research and get confused.
I am looking for the following:

1. Set of lights come on an hour before sunset.
  2. The balance of lights come on at sunset.
  3. At 7:45 some lights go off and some light dim.
  4. At 9:45 more lights go off.
  5. Remaining lights go off at sunrise.
  6. Also want to have the location of two phones detected to have a modified number of lights following the above senerio if they are both detected as away from the house.

I have some lights where I use the on/off options on the device itself. I have some lights where I use the Smart Lighting app. I have some lights where I set up Automations. It all works ok, but when I want to make modifications I have to rummage around to find the automation.

Any written guide that is available would be very helpful? Thanks in advance.

I am only going to respond to this and let others deal with your questions.

You may want to start planning to move away from Smart Lighting as it will be phased out when groovy is shut down.

4 Likes

To me it seems like you might be well served by thinking in terms of Scenes instead of individual lights.

3 Likes

No written guide that I know if, in part because there are so many variations on what people want to accomplish.

I agree with @orangebucket that barring fine details that might not have been mentioned yet, it seems like scenes might be the simplest solution for you. And also with @jkp that setting the triggers for them in routines/automations rather than SmartLighting.

2 Likes