Been out of the game for a bit, a little confused about what's going on

Howdy y’all!

I have been using SmartThings since early 2017 and I have really enjoyed the experience. I am a professional developer and IoT hobbyist. I have written a couple Device Handlers to integrate a few random devices into my home automation setup. Nothing super crazy. But it’s been a while (mainly due to everything just working) and I’m just now jumping back into the eco system.

My dog ate my home audio receiver remote and a new one is $$$, so I thought, “Why don’t I add my AVR into my SmartThings app?!” That’s when I logged in and saw that things are changing. I’ve been reading as many announcements as I can, I logged into the new developer portal and created a new Work Space, and I’m still a little confused on a few areas. I have a few questions that I hope are simple enough to answer:

1. Is the Groovy IDE going away, and if so…
  2. Is it worth developing new Device Type Handlers and Apps in the Groovy IDE>
  3. Is ST transitioning from Groovy to JavaScript? (I really hope so!! That would be fantastic!)
  4. Is local execution coming to ST apps? I read something about “Local Execution” and I haven’t found if that applies to only Z-Wave/Zigbee functions, or if it will extend to custom apps
  5. The new Work Spaces concept looks more SaaS based than IDE based, am I still going to be able to write code in the new Work Spaces? If so, where does one put it? Is there GitHub integration?
  6. What are DTH and custom SmartApps called in the new Work Spaces? Is there a way to handle custom IoT devices from the new Work Spaces portal?

If I have any more questions as I go about, I’ll come back and add them here.

Thanks for you help/patience!

Others will be able to answer more technically, but the short answer is that the smartthings cloud will no longer be open to custom code sometime within 2021.