Automations with time period like "Midnight to Sunrise" in new app?

Is this possible to do, if so how… I don’t see any obvious way in the current time period specification options, but might have missed it.

This is one limitation preventing me from converting several of my existing SmartLighting apps over to automations.

I would also like to be able to start a period at a specific time and end it at Sunrise/Sunset, e.g. 2am to “Sunrise”. That flexibility would cover the midnight case in a more general manner.

I’m not an expert like a lot here, but I see what you mean. Only thing I see is Period of Time and that seems to be limited to 60 minutes before/after sunrise/sunset.

With that said, I know you can do it in webCoRE.

1 Like

Yeah, but that would be too easy :grin:

I’d like to convert all existing SmartLighting apps over to the new automations if possible, else just leave them in SmartLighting. The fewer WC dependencies I add during this migration should reduce the effort on the next big one.

1 Like

I dont know if you can do it in a single automations logic but you could potentially use pairs of automations. One to kick things off at say sunrise and the other to stop at sunset. Similar for 2am to sunrise etc. Clunkly but should work (and may need virtual switches to help if its a very complicated automation).

I would guess that he’s trying to use the time period in the IF condition, such as “IF the time is between midnight and sunrise, and a motion sensor trips, THEN turn on a security light and send a notification” or something to that effect. Not sure that you could accomplish that with two routines.

The UI sucks because it looks like you can choose “Period of time”, then select Start Time and set it to midnight (on the Time tab) and then select End Time and set it to Sunrise (on the Day Tab), but if you click on the Day or Night tabs it automatically switches both the Start and End Time to be of the same type: Time, Day, or Night.