Arrival Sensor or other suggestion?

I’m still new with this SmartThings so please bear with my slowness of figuring out what can and can’t be done. Appreciate any advice y’all can give me.

We have one of those inexpensive security alarms but I just feel we’re kind of wasting money with it. I have a few security cameras I can view the house with on my phone and was thinking of just putting up some of those door sensors and monitoring the house myself. The only issue is my parents live with me, and being warned the door opens/closes when I’m at work if they’re home would be annoying.

I see they sell an arrival sensor (which also has that added feature of helping mom find the keys shes lost weekly). Now since my parents and I live on separate schedules obviously, if I purchased two of these, and had them on both our key rings. Can I set up the system to only notify me about doors opening/closing when BOTH sensors are away from the house? And how would you do that?

Or is there a better way of doing this?

Theoretically, smartthings should be able to do exactly that. It’s pretty straightforward, most of the official features have the option to do things differently if everyone is away or if one person comes home. There are several different ways to handle that, but the basic idea is definitely supported.

The biggest issue with SmartThings at the present time is reliability. When it works well, it is absolutely my favorite home automation system. But since last November I have yet to go 10 days without an impactful SmartThings failure.