Anyone tried HOOBS for HomeKit integration?

A friend of mine wants a very easy to set up homebridge product and is looking at HOOBS. Reviews seem to indicate that you are paying for the extra convenience, it would be cheaper to just get a raspberry pi especially since HOOBS offers its software for free. But my friend is willing to pay the extra to get the already set up package and I think that’s fine as long as he understands what he’s paying for. Choice is good.

But I don’t know anyone who has this particular device. Does anyone have experience with this model specifically? Thanks! I know there are quite a few community members who are using homebridge with smartthings, I know how to do that, I’m just asking about this specific product. :sunglasses:

Here’s a recent review from the always detailed HomeKit news site which makes it look pretty good, but of course the reviewer has a lot of technical experience.

@pizzinini

Sorry, I have no experience with an out of the box homebridge I was very frustrated many times and almost bought one but somehow always made it work on my raspberry pi.

I can see it work well though. It is now probably no more than 15 commands to get this setup and if you rund some scripts in the background to restart in case of failure and do automated updates it should work.

Sorry I can’t be of more help!

2 Likes

Maybe one word of caution… I just read the review you posted and it did not mention SmartThings. The SmartThings plugin is fairly complicated compared to others because it has to support many more device capabilities. I remember issues in the past with locks, buttons etc that made the whole apple Home setup crash, not only the plugin… but if you keep it simple with mostly switches and dimmers there should be no problem long term.

1 Like

Let’s just start off with saying hoobs customer service is horrible, but there technical support is amazing however, but extremely limited.