Adding Nest Interface to my Smartthings

Hi,
I am new to Smartthings. I have a NEST Protect (Smoke/Carbon Monoxide Detector) and I want to be able to access it thru Smartthings. Any suggests on how to get started?
Thanks,
Dana

2 Likes

Yup, NST manager is great, I have my Protects and Thermostat working well with it.

Hi,

I am new to the Smartthings community and I have no idea how to download
the NST_Manager. Any help you could provide would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Dana

I was able to download the Nest_Manager and the various devices (e.g., Protect, Thermostat, etc.) However, I was never able to execute OAuth on any of the Device Handlers and turn them to “true”. Furthermore, I was unable to find Nest Manager in my “My Apps” in the “Marketplace”. Any suggestions?

You need to read the documentation all the way through and carefully. It walks you through the entire process, including performing OAuth on the SmartApp, not the device handlers.

http://thingsthataresmart.wiki/index.php?title=NST_Manager

When it comes to NST Manager, I will assist whenever I am available, but I know when people read the entire set of docs, casually flip thru them or completely skip 'em. Don’t be a casual flipper :grin:

4 Likes

Make sure you are signed into the right server and with the correct account.

You will want to sign in here, https://graph-na04-useast2.api.smartthings.com/, and with your Samsung account (not SmartThings) account.

1 Like

Ok. I will try that Brad! It is mind boggling how you never know which
server you are on!!

One thing we have been telling quite a few people using NST Manager lately, feast or phamon, when it rains it pours, lol, is to goto https://account.smartthings.com so that when you login you are always redirected to the correct shard for your account.

1 Like

Same error message:
“You are missing the Client ID and Secret”
“We can no longer provide you with a built-in Nest Client ID and Secret.