3 Way Smart Switch Wiring with a Regular Switch

(Paul Muldoon) #1

I’m just getting started into the HA scene, and recently picked up a Leviton 3 Way Switch to use in my hallway from Home Depot.

http://www.homedepot.com/p/Leviton-Z-Wave-Enabled-1800VA-3-Way-Remote-Scene-Capable-Switch-with-LED-Locator-White-Ivory-Light-Almond-R02-DZS15-1LZ/205298583?MERCH=RV--rv_gm_pip_rr--205298585--205298583--N#product_description

The switched is being used as a 3 way switch, with the other switch still being the default/original switch, and not the coordinating 3 way switch.

Now, I’m not sure if I installed it incorrectly or not. However, the Leviton switch will turn on and off the hall light. However, the 2nd/non smart switch needs to toggle on, off, on, off to turn the light on. I think its because it needs to ‘clear’ the smart switch first to turn it on?

(Ray) #2

I don’t think you can use a non z-wave switch with this switch. You need that coordinating remote switch for a 3 way.

(Bruce) #3

@Navat604 is right. Your setup will not work as intended. You need to add a Leviton VP0SR-1LZ, instead of the original non-smart switch. The VP0SR is also “not smart”, but it knows how to talk to your DZS15.

(Eric) #4

I made the same mistake, Paul. I bought the coordinating switch for my GE ones, and it was magically easy again to get 3-way switches working. When I ran into a 5-way (not sure thats the right term), that got hairy and had to have a pro figure out that wiring non-sense. I guess I was a little overzealous looking for 4 outlets to control one set of lights when I built the house. LOL

(Paul Muldoon) #5

Thanks guys,

I ordered the matching remote switch (with LED), number VP0SR-1LZ if anyone else is looking for it.

I’m still having trouble getting these switches to pair up though. But I to have to admit that I’m using a Rooted Wink hub currently. But when ST opens up their box for local control and/or use with OpenHab, I’ll make the change to ST.