Z-Wave Dimmer Switches and GE Link Bulb Questions

Hi there

I am new to this HA stuff, but VERY keen to learn as this is some cool s#!t!

I currently have the ST Hub, and 4 GE Link bulbs. During the initial set up I have learned a few things and have a few questions:

• The GE Link bulbs do not dim very low when using the ST app. They seem to stop around the 40% mark, which is way too bright for some instances. Is this normal? The bulbs seem to work fine when I use a regular wall dimmer switch, although I am sure this is not recommended…
  • I am realizing that the GE Link bulbs are OK (if they could dim properly) but requiring an app to dim them seems a bit cumbersome, so I am now looking at Z-Wave dimmer switches. I have read that the GE switches require a minimum of 40W to work properly, so I am looking at the Linear WD500Z. Anyone have any experience with these? Would you recommend any others?
  • Will an in-wall dimmer switch like the Linear dim the lights, or simply turn them on and off (leaving the dimming functionality to the app)?
  • What are applications where you recommend using a GE Link type bulb over Z-Wave switches?

Cheers!

First of all, welcome to ST!!

Typically z-wave switches and dimmers are a better option than smart bulbs, especially if a single switch operates multiple bulbs. The bulbs can be great for outdoor lights or household lamps that don’t have a dedicated switch and would normally be operated at the lamp. I’m a little atypical as I’m using 15 of them in my basement so I can zone off sections as all overhead are on a single switch.

-You’re exactly right about always needing an app to dim. As mentioned above, they have their uses. The Linear WD500Z is the recommended z-wave dimmer wall switch on here. I have used them to control a single LED up to 16 LEDs with no issues. They don’t buzz and dim smoothly, but they do require a neutral wire in the switch box.