Wiring 3 Way Light Switches So Permanently On? (UK)

Hi all,

Probably posting in the wrong area so feel free to move.

I’m after some help from the ever knowledgeable ST community.

I have 3 x 1 gang light switches controlling 1 ceiling bulb. I want to blank off the light switches and have adhesive mounted battery operated zigbee switches stuck on the blanks that will control a smart bulb hanging from the ceiling. I therefore need to connect the wires inside the back boxes so the light fitting is permanently on. Unfortunately I’m not sure of the right way to do this.

Please use nice and simple terminology as I’m not an electrician.

UK based in a house that was built around 10 years ago if that matters.

Thanks in advance :slight_smile:

Unfortunately, my understanding is that this is not legal in the UK unless these are just accessory switches for a two way.

At least in England, safety code requires that there be at least one master switch in the room which controls the current directly to the fittings in that room. This has previously been discussed in the forum by people who live in the UK and know much more than I do.

( The US does not have the same requirement in most jurisdictions with the exception of attic spaces, which is why you will see so much discussion in the forum about bypassing the switch. But that option is not available to UK members.)

Instead, the usual solution in the UK is to build a little wooden or plastic case which fits over the top of the existing switch and can be lifted up to access that switch. And then put your battery operated device on top of that. Some people print these with a 3-D printer, some just make one themselves.

That meets the code requirements and can be quite attractive if you put some thought into the design.

@Mikeyf79 or one of the other UK wiring experts might have more to add.

1 Like