Will smarthings hub v2 continue to be supported? should I buy a used one?

newbie here. Is the v2 hub supported? is there any downside to purchasing a used one?

For now, but knowing SmartThings they’ll kill it whenever they feel like it.

i find the smarthings roadmap very confusing. it seems there is now a 3rd party company (name starts with an A?) who is manufacturing the hub for samsung? i guess it is still v3 Is there any clearly defined roadmap for the hub.

Im only asking because im just getting started with home automation and want to pick a hub that has a future

So the fact of the matter - you’ll NEVER get a straight answer to the question as asked.

Here’s some metrics to help you plan lifecycle.

The SmartThings v.1 (2015) hub was supported for ~5-6 years before they stopped providing new firmware. It was another year or so before they finally annouced it’s end. By the time the end was announced there was no way to push a final firmware to the device because the front endpoint the device ‘knows’ about changed - without it being ther to provide the new firmware, the device can’t load it…

What this means - you do not want to be running a device that cannot accept firmware updates (either not being made or the scenario above)

Now, the v.2 hub came out in (early?) 2018 - it’s reasonable to assume they would continue firmware updates for at least as long as they did for the v.1 - so 5 years. That puts the date sometime in 2023.

It’s not perfect, and a guess - but based on reasonable data. If you’re comfortable with rebuilding your local ST install sometime in or around 2023-2024 - then go for it.

For me, though - it’s a massive pain to rejoin hundreds of individual devices. Something I try not to do on a regular basis and the pain of doing that to hundreds of devices nauseates me. I would go for the newer hub and stretch that date. Get the Aeotec.

2 Likes