Why use SmartThings or any Hub for that matter? (Not a troll, real question)

Hi everyone,
I’ll admit I’m new to home automation. SO I could be missing something. I have STv2 hub several Zwave, Zigbee and WiFi devices though out the house. There are also 6 Alexas. I’ve experienced problems with Zwave & Zigbee devices. None have ever just paired with the hug straight away. Been close to the hub, far from the hub, tried it all. Once connected they work fine, albeit sometimes a little slower than their WiFi counterparts. I have doors unlock when I get home, light scenes, Nest HVAC control, timers and etc. Having a mix of wireless types is kind of a drag, a little more work to get them all within between ST and Alexa. I’ve had found custom device handlers, and other cool fixes here. Not a big deal over all I’m happy with my Zwave and Zigbee combos.

My question is this. Why use Zware and Zigbee at all? The Wifi/hub less equivalents are cheaper and seem more reliable. I can usually get the same device, from reputable vendors, not talking no name made in china versions, for 30% - 50% cheaper, and just control from Alexa.

What am I missing here, am I not using ST and it’s devices to their full potential? Maybe missing some program ability the Alexa can’t provide?

Not looking to start a Hub/Anti hub war, just some insight.

Thanks for your help.
Sunil

Zigbee and zwave are both low powered mesh technologies. Mesh allows for the more devices you have (mains powered) the stronger your network will be.
Consumer WiFi starts to have issues around 32 devices per radio
Zwave supports ~254 devices
Zigbee supports ~64,000