Why don't we have tiny sensors like proprietary vendors?

I have a 12 year old ITT Simon alarm system with much smaller window /door sensors that had batteries lasting literally 5+ years. I am brand new to the smartthings scene (still in the box), but feel the available zigbee or zwave sensors are bigger and drain batteries quicker. Also, I have 26 doors and windows and my eyes are popping out on the prices and lack of bulk purchasing options. Am I missing something?

Which model sensors? The Simon sensors I’m aware of are pretty much in the same size range of typical zwave and zigbee sensors:

http://www.interlogix.com/intrusion/category/wireless-sensing

The one exception is their Micro Sensor line, but the NYCE sensors that work with SmartThings are about the same size, maybe even a little smaller.

https://www.amazon.com/NYCE-NCZ-3011-HA-ZigBee-Window-Sensor/dp/B00WTE61FI/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1467502191&sr=8-1&keywords=nyce+zigbee

And the fibaro motion sensor, at one and three-quarter inches across, is smaller than anything that’s a motion sensor in the Simon line that I’m aware of. Granted, that one’s expensive.

https://www.amazon.com/Fibaro-Z-Wave-Motion-Sensor-FGMS-001/dp/B01615SUBI/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1467502279&sr=8-1&keywords=fibaro+motion+sensor

The Lowe’s iris zigbee motion sensor is almost as small and can often be found on sale for about $20. Again I don’t think there’s a motion sensor that small in the Simon line. The Lowe’s is on the left in the following picture, and the SmartThings motion sensor is in the middle. The right is the same size as a typical Simon sensor.

http://www.lowes.com/pd/Iris-Motion-Sensor-Works-with-Iris/999925310

Wireless tags from Kumostat also work with SmartThings through some community written code and are very small, very nice devices which work well as door sensors. But again on the expensive side.

Bulk Buying?