What's the downside to using lots of apps Smart Life, Tuya, Globe, IFTTT, Google Home, etc

I started with a Google Mini and added the Smartthings 2018 hub and thought that took care of everything. Google home and Smartthings. Then IFTT got connected and now IFTT says it works better with Smart Life , so I might add that, and I bought a Globe light so I think I’ll be adding Globe and or Tuya to it all…
I’m still a newbie but before I go adding all these together to work with Smartthings or google or IFTTT I want to check in with the community and see if I’m going to regret this or if I’m missing something?
Sometimes I think "just add everything to ensure everything can work with everything in an optimal manner… That’s when I snap out of it and realize I need to ask you guys.
Privacy must be a risk…
But could I lose functions with Smartthings by adding these other apps?

1 Like

You won’t lose any functions. Honestly, it’s just a matter of taste as to whether or not it bugs you to have multiple apps.

Again, the first rule of home automation applies: “the model number matters.“ :wink:

In some cases, you’ll only need the app to set up the device initially.

There will be others that you will use to set up automations that run, well, automatically, so unless you’re creating a new rule, you won’t need to worry about them.

At our house, we mostly interact with the home automation system either through schedules, sensorbased rules, or a voice assistant, so we don’t need the apps on an everyday basis.

But if you’re the kind of person who is going to be pulling out your phone and using the app all the time, then you may want to limit yourself to an app which can handle most of your devices.

So it just comes down to the details of how you yourself will use it. But you won’t be losing functionality just because you have multiple apps on your phone. :sunglasses: