Wanting a webhook to get notified of all events

Is there a straight forward way to have notifications sent to a web url of all events that happen at a smartthings location? I’m not a Groovy developer (or Java), (I mostly do .Net and node/JavaScript) and am not excited about learning Groovy or using the built in IDE to program with.

Exactly what I want is in the live events report (see screen shot). That is, if on each of these events a web request could be generated to my amazon aws lamda function, that is all I need.

“Straight forward”… No. It’s quite complicated

Possible? Not exactly all Events in any case.

Skip Groovy (it’s deprecated). You’ll want to try to use the new SmartThings Cloud API (still in public Beta) at Samsung Developers. But it has rate limits (which we hope are flexible) but relaying all events from all Things will be a problem.

Thanks. I tried the node cli app and keep getting a 401 (not authenticated). just doing a status command. I did set and verify the token using echo $SMARTTHINGS_CLI_TOKEN so I know it is set. I even tried giving the token every permission just in case.

Are there any other example projects I can test with?

1 Like

I hope someone responds to this Topic with more examples. I know @Jim is enthusiastic.

It’s been 8 months since SDC. I had no expectations that the use and popularity of the new API would happen super quickly; but I did hope there would be more “Community” enthusiasm by now. Myself … I’ve got other responsibilities, and I don’t think it is very for me efficient to put too much energy into a “beta” API.

But I also know that beta users are essential to get the new API ready and helpful to the development community.

I wonder: Is there perhaps activity on other Samsung forums in this area?