Want to Install Controller for Overhead Fan but Need Help Understanding Switch Box

I’m just getting started with smart home stuff and I wanted to take on something more complicated than pairing a few light bulbs: I want to add a fan controller for the overhead fan in our living room.

Now, I’ve read the other topics about the GE Smart Fan Control, and that looks like what I need. (I haven’t bought anything yet, so if I’m wrong, please say so.) I took the switch plate off this afternoon and was presented with what seems like a crazy wiring setup that doesn’t match anything else I’ve found. And bonus, the idiot builders who built our house managed to spray drywall over everything in the box, which makes it even harder to figure out what’s what.

So, it’s a 3-gang switch. The left switch is a 3-way switch to the kitchen light, the middle one is the fan, and the right one is the light fixture in the fan. But the switches seem to be wired to each other? I’m lost as to what that’s doing.

Here’s the best picture I could get of what’s going on here:

And I drew a picture as best as I could of what wires are going where:

[Only one image at a time apparently…]

So, I’m assuming the top wire on each switch is load and the bottom one is line and that capped wire is where I’d connect the neutral? Is there a way to verify this? I have a pen voltage tester. Is there a safe way to test this?

Sorry, I’m probably asking too many questions at once. It’s just of course the next thing I wanted to tackle here would be the most complicated and messy switch in the whole house. :sweat:

If anyone could provide any insight as to what I need to do here, I would be very appreciative. Thanks,

Here’s the drawing I referenced above of what the wiring looked like.

That’s just jumping the line (hot) from one switch to the next.