Using Smart Plug as Button?

Hi, new to all this so apologies in advance if it’s a stupid question. I just got a ST hub and and looking to get a load of plugs to control some lamps that I have. I know I’ll be able to use alexa or the app to turn them on, but I’m also wondering if they report when they’ve been switched on/off to use that as a trigger? I’d like it if I could switch on/off a single outlet to turn on/off a lamp, and it could trigger the rest of the lamps in the room to also be switched on/off.

Sure! Plugs are Technically Switches…

You could do this with one of the stock apps called SmartLighting. It’s in the Marketplace.

Lots of us use webCoRE as our goto rule engine. There’s a bit of a learning curve but it uses simple logic such as If, Then and is WAY more powerful than any of the stock apps.

Ok brilliant, any any switch should do the job in that case then?

Thanks I’ll look into webCoRE, I’m a software dev so hopefully should be able to pick it up without too much trouble!

Yep any switch. Physical or Virtual.

You can create Virtual Switches (VS) in the IDE.

https://account.smartthings.com/login

Login-Location-Home-Devices-New Device-Simulated Switch

The IDE is where you go to install custom code as well.

Here’s a custom app to create VS on the fly.

webCoRE is fantastic and very powerful, but it always runs in the ST Cloud vs locally on your hub. Smart Lighting actually runs locally on your v2 Hub, assuming all of the devices used in your lighting automation are also running locally. So, Smart Lighting is a good way to improve reliability and responsiveness vs running your logic in the ST cloud.

I use both, but prefer Smart Lighting whenever possible just to get the local processing functionality.