Using presence and door sensor to trigger Echo weather, music, etc

I am new to ST’s, Echo, and IFTTT. I have dug around the forums a little bit but not finding the answers I am missing.

I have found several guides on how to use Alexa to trigger actions via ST’s, however I am trying to do the opposite. I would like to set up a task as follows:

iPhone Presence - Changes from Away to Present
Front Door Sensor - Changes from closed to open
Echo - Reports the news, or plays music, etc.

Any help on this would be great! Currently I have the MichaelStruck : Alexa Helper Smart App installed and I have connected both the Echo and ST’s to IFTTT

I’ve been looking for something similar. From what I can tell, this isn’t an integration problem, it’s an Echo API issue. Currently, there is no way to make the Echo speak without first being spoken too. Basically, timers and alarms are the only events where Echo will make noise without prompting (and even those are prompted).

I imagine they did this so that Echo didn’t become the annoying notification noise machine our phones are. However, it’s still disappointing. Maybe they’ll change it in the future.

Well that is unfortunate.

This works…but you’re gonna laugh. You can actually command alexa to do or say something this way under smartthings control

1 Like

The way skills work is that the Alexa invokes a skill, which passes data to a function on a server that then returns a response. This handshake has to start from the Echo so that there is an established path back to it.

Much like how a browser makes a request from a server, the server then returns data to the requesting browser. The server has no way to push something through to your browser if you make no request (it has no idea where or who it is). Don’t expect this to change anytime soon, if ever.