Using Bed shaker with Honeywell Vista Alarm and Kidde smoke detector sounds

I am new to all this but I’ll try to be brief. I wear 2 cochlear implants so I am deaf when I sleep. I have a Honeywell Vista 20P intrusion only alarm system with Wave2 siren (no fire detection components) and 3 interconnected Kidde smoke/CO detectors. In the event wife (hears great) were out of town, I need to find a way to be alerted from sleep if EITHER alarm system is triggered OR smoke detector goes off. I have ffound systems that would activate a bed shaker if smoke detector triggers as it emits T3 tone but alarm system is a constant siren tone NOT T3. Any ideas on how to make a bed shaker respond to either alarm siren and smoke detectors. BTW, I have card in alarm system that sends me texts and emails if alarm is triggered. Delay is only a few seconds. Any help is appreciated. Thanks

It should certainly be doable. SmartThings ™ itself is not reliable enough for life and death applications like smoke alerts, but you could use some of the ideas in the following thread, just choose a more reliable platform.

Products for Deaf

On the other hand, since that thread was created there are now some simpler solutions on the market.

As you mentioned, there are already several bedshaker products on the market that can respond to a UL listed smoke alarm. One of those would probably be safest.

With regard to the alerts from the security system, I think I myself would be most likely to sleep wearing a smart watch that could vibrate when the text/email was received from the security system. That would be a very easy, very reliable solution.

1 Like