Turning a dumb litter box into a smart litter box?

I’m still very new to smart home stuff, and have been getting a bit carried away with all kinds of crazy ideas.

Such as… is it possible to turn a “dumb” litter box into a smart litter box?

I have this litter box (which is fantastic, by the way). It’s a pretty standard plastic hooded box, but the gimmick is you can roll it to one side to collect the waste. It works really well and I highly recommend it to anyone who doesn’t like scooping.

Anyway, if I were to put a sensor inside that could detect proximity and/or motion (for when a cat enters), could I then set it up through SmartThings to send me a push alert a few minutes later so I know when it’s time to ‘roll’ the box? And taking things even further, could I also have SmartThings turn on a plug (along with the push alert) with some kind of scent thing attached to mask the smell every time a cat goes?

I know this will likely get cat litter all over the sensor, but if it was cheap enough and worked reasonably well I wouldn’t mind that much.

Thoughts?

Why stop there? Let’s strap a motor to it so it rolls itself.

3 Likes

Sure, there have been other community members who put the litter box in a closet that had a motion sensor to detect when there was motion in the closet.

You can see what other people have done by looking on the quick browse list in the community – created wiki, looking down to the bottom of that page for the “project reports“ section and then choosing the list for “animals.“ Lots of very creative people in the community. :sunglasses::smile_cat:

https://thingsthataresmart.wiki/index.php?title=How_to_Quick_Browse_the_Community-Created_SmartApps_Forum_Section

1 Like

It definitely crossed my mind! It would essentially be a vastly cheaper version of the Litter Robot.

I’m not much for mechanical engineering, though…