What can you do for my cat?

(Robert Andrews) #1

Hello, SmartThingers,

So, what are the ways in which I might be able to use SmarThings/SmartApps with my cat? Not just feeders; what other ideas do you have?

Presence sensing?
In/out catflap notification and logging?
Proximity to house?
etc?

Is there any SmartThings component small enough to be worn around a cat’s neck? If so, what could we do with that?

What I’d really like is a small cat-tracking GPS collar with live tracking support. These exist for dogs but appear to be too small for small cats. The company that makes a small live GPS tracker will surely be rich.

I’m not a developer, just a consumer and cat owner who was already interested in SmartThings and other home automation technology.

Thanks.

(Cory S) #2

I use to train working dogs, and that allowed me to test out pretty much all the coolest tech toys for dogs. The GPS collars are not very practical (yet) because they require a huge battery that only lasts 2-3 days. I can’t imagine something that would be small enough for a cat doing very well at all.

(Desvio) #3

You could put a pressure sensor under the kitty litter tray.  Send a notification after X uses to clean it out.

or… if you are evil, run the can opener each time it steps in.  You’ll get one of two results, either you’ll have to clean out the litter box less often, or you’ll condition the cat to feel “the urge” every feeding time.

(Robert Andrews) #4

@Desvio: “You could put a pressure sensor under the kitty litter tray.”

At first, I was thinking: “How much does cat poop really weigh?!” But now I get what you mean :slight_smile:

@Cory Simpson: “I can’t imagine something that would be small enough for a cat doing very well at all.”

What do you make of this proposed Trax device? http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/trax-gps-tracker/trax-gps-tracker-for-children-and-pets