Trying to find answers on light switches

Hello everyone,

I’m new to this home automation stuff and I haven’t been able to find a clear answer as to what I should be looking for. Right now I’m trying to research light switches. Next to my front door I have a switch panel with 3 traditional on off switches, the small kind not the big rectangular switches. All 3 share a single large faceplate. One of those switches controls the exterior lights on the front of the house and I"d like to replace it with one that I can control via smart things and set them to go on and off at specific times and things of that nature.

Everywhere I look light z-wave light switches are always displayed as a single switch in its own dedicated faceplate. What do I need for what I’m trying to do? Also syncing things to Smart Things it always says to bring whatever item you’re trying to pair close to the hub… how do you pair a light switch that is on the opposite side of the house?

Thanks in advance.

(Brian Diehl) #2

I use 2 of the GE toggle switches, both are in multi-switch plates (1 is a 2-switch and 1 is a 3-switch plate).
No issue. It fits fine (although it may be a tight fit to squeeze it into the standard gang box).

I paired mine on the other side of the apartment without an issue. This is the reason why batteries are in the hub. Get a long network cable if you can, and get as close as you can and pair it.

Then put the hub back where it goes and do a Z-wave repair. This will then help the switch find a good route back to the hub.

You might be able to pair it where it’s at without issue and without the need to move your hub.

Are you in the US or the UK? I’m not quite sure what you’re describing as far as the type of switch goes. If you could post a picture that would help a lot.

As far as the initial pairing to the hub, there are a few different factors in this.

For a light switch, they should pair fine up to about 30 feet from the hub.