Toggle lights with motion sensor

Hi everyone. I am new to SmartThings and the forum.

Here is my scenario:

I have a motion sensor in the bathroom. This is what I would like to do: when there is motion, if lights in that room are off, turn them on, otherwise, if lights in that room are on, turn them off. The smart app called “my light toggle” by Jesse Silverberg is the closest thing I have found. However, it requires a master switch and the only switches in my setup are hue lights. So, I need to have a light on all the time in order for this to work. Any ideas/help?

Thank you.

Hi,

Smart lighting app should do what you need.

It’s in the marketplace in the app

Ade

1 Like

@adeparker thanks Adrian. Are you referring to the Smart Lights app in the marketplace? Btw, is there a way to search for apps in the marketplace?

That’s the one!

I don’t believe there’s a way to search, no. Generally just a case of finding the right category

Are you trying to do this:

If the lights are OFF and there is motion, turn the lights ON.
If the lights are ON and there is motion, turn the lights OFF.

I don’t think Smart Lighting can do that. Without some custom code, you’re going to find yourself in a race condition where the lights blink on and off, I believe.

It absolutely could be done with a custom Smart App, however. You’d have to build in some delay.

@NorCalLights yes. That is what I want to do. I figured that it would require some custom code. Do you have any suggestion on how to implement the delay? Is there some sample code that I can use to help me figure it out? I have to go through some documentation too to figure out what this entails.

Here, try this. Assuming your motion sensor has some reasonable motion delay on it, this should work fine.

preferences {
	section ("When motion is detected...") {
		input "motion1", "capability.motionSensor", title: "Where?"
	}
	section ("Toggle the state of these switches") {
		input "switches", "capability.switch", multiple: true