Tips on Managing a Hot Water Recirculation Pump

Greetings…

Newbie here, but enjoying the learning experience…

I’ve reviewed some of the other recirc pump ideas, but not finding my same application.

I have a 120 V digital Intermatic wall switch timer that I want to use to activate a remote hot water recirculation pump in my garage, so it can run for 30-45 seconds when activated. When I turn the wall switch timer on, I want to activate the pump and then have the pump turn off when the timer runs out and shuts off. I need a z wave momentary contact type device that sends a signal to the pump outlet when the timer turns on and off when the timer runs down. I tried the Linear fixture contact device, but can’t make it work through the standard ST hub. Perhaps a smartapp or ??? Or a more appropriate Z wave device to make this communication happen between the wall switch and pump? Thanks for any insights!

could you do this. Z wave outlet controller on the pump and a thermal sensor on the far end of your hot water line. When it hits the desired temp it fires a rule in rule machine to run the pump for 1 minute and turn it back off

I use the smart lights app for a timer. I leave my pump run for 10 minutes after it’s been triggered. The pump is controlled by a zwave appliance module, as my heater is on a gfi, and I didn’t want to modify the circuit. The downside is a wall switch won’t operate it, but I have several minimotes, voice control, and app control.

Here is what I am going to do.
1 Smartsense appliance outlet hooked to the pump
2. Monoprice Open/close sensor with its screw terminals hooked to this

1. A little thermal wrap from Home depot to hold the temp probe on the pipe.
  2. set an open/close rule so that when the contacts open it starts the pump and when they close it shuts off. you could limit it to modes or time of day if you wished.

quick easy and functional.

1 Like