Switch to control 3 separate outlets?

Newbie here :baby:. I have 3 sections of cabinets (each with an outlet above) that I want to install under-cabinet lighting on without running an extension cable that would be visible (also two of the sections are on different sides of a vent hood chimney that goes all the way to the ceiling, so I can’t run an extension there). We just moved in and I’m comfortable with wiring, soldering, installation, but I’m brand new to the whole smart home/appliances/devices scene. Is there a way to control these 3 separate areas with one wall switch? The wall switch would have 110V AC, but wouldn’t be able to be wired directly to the light strips/controllers themselves. Can the color be controlled by the switch at all or would that have to be done via an app?

Do you have an extra space in a multi-gang switch box that isn’t used? You could link a smart switch to smart outlets via a rule. Another option is to get a remote or battery powered switch that sticks on the wall and do the same.

I don’t have a double gang box right now, but I can add one pretty easily. What smart switch and outlets would you recommend?

i’ve had good luck with GE and Zooz switches. Haven’t bought any in wall outlets, but people seem to like the GE ones. Also, i believe if you get all z-wave devices you can use a direct association between the switch and outlets so that a rule isn’t even needed in SmartThings.

As @Automated_House mentioned, any switch, including a battery operated switch, which communicates with the SmartThings hub can then be used to control any group of devices which are also controlled by the smartthings hub. The switch send a message to the hub, the hub sends a message to as many different outlets as you told it to. So that part is easy. :sunglasses: