Smartthings reliability and suitability for commercial applications? (2019)

Ive seen a lot of posts about the reliability of the SmartThings platform and recommendations against commercial use (in hotels, offices, etc) due to the reliability issues. Most of these posts are 2-3 years old and older. Personally I’ve been using the platform for maybe 2 years now, and once I saw in this community that the hub should not be close to the router, I haven’t really had any problems so it seems to me reliability has improved significantly.

My question is, are the opinions the same as it was a few years ago. Would you community members still not recommend SmartThings for commercial use? If not, is it still due to reliability issues or something else?

There have been at least three of these threads in the last few months, and, yes, my opinion at least is the same. Smartthings is not designed for commercial use and is not suitable for commercial use.

Their own product usage guidelines have not changed,

https://www.smartthings.com/guidelines

• Data accuracy and consistency from SmartThings sensors, including those provided by SmartThings directly, resold by SmartThings, or supported by SmartThings, is not guaranteed. Therefore, you should not rely on that data for any use that impacts health, safety, security, property or financial interests. For example, because temperature readings may vary significantly from reading to reading on an individual device, between devices, or over time, those readings should not be used to control heating and cooling in environments where food spoilage, health risks, or damage to physical goods could occur. Alternately, presence data from SmartThings devices or mobile/Smartphones can vary in accuracy, and therefore should not be used to control access to secure locations without secondary authentication.

Unlike Lutron, Leviton, Philips, and even Amazon echo, they do not have a commercial services division, which is usually a big clue. :wink: