Smart breadmaker?

Does anyone have any ideas for a “smart” breadmaker? Ideally, being able to start (or stop) and monitor the current status remotely would be great, but at a minimum, being able to remotely start the machine will be enough to take care of my #1 problem: filling the pan with my ingredients but forgetting to start the machine (or even a timer) before I leave home. I know there’s a WeMo-enabled Crock Pot, but it appears no one has done this with a breadmaker yet. :slight_smile:

The only two things I can find that seem related are:

However, I am not an engineer (just a former computer scientist), so both are very unlikely for me to be able to do (particularly the first; the second actually seems like it would be do-able since it includes more details on the process—the main issue seems like it would be disassembling the actual breadmaker).

As an alternative, something potentially simpler that might solve the problem is:

• A sort of “robot arm” that positioned over the “Start” button that I could signal remotely to press (assuming I already have the breadmaker configured correctly, which I usually do);
  • Optionally, a camera or similar on the display to remotely monitor the progress (i.e., see what phase it’s on).

Does anyone have experience with anything like this? I’m guessing the second option would be the easiest, though both seem a little far-fetched given what is easily available (though you’d think an ST-compatible mechanical “button presser” wouldn’t be that off the wall).

I remember this post for a button pusher. I think you can integrate it via IFTTT.

1 Like