Single switch wall switches vs multi switch

Hey folks,

I’m a complete newbie to home automation and know little about electrical wiring. The most I’ve ever done is install a ceiling fan/ceiling fixture that was already pre-wired for it in the ceiling.

My wife and I just moved into a new house that we’ve had custom built last year. Every room in our house has a wall outlet that is controlled by a wall switch, in addition to a ceiling fan/fixture pre-wire that is also controlled by a wall switch, with 2 switches (1 for fan, one for light on fan).

Many of my rooms have minimum 2 switch panels, some have three, four or five.

How would I be able to add SmartThings compatible switches to these? Is it even possible?

Thanks for any help or information you’re able to give.

All you need to do is change out the wall switches to one of these:
http://www.lowes.com/pd_339577-1353-45637_0__?productId=3707736

Unless of course that switch is a 3-way meaning that you have multiple wall switches in different locations controlling the same thing. There is a 3-way version of this switch at Lowes as well.

Ceiling fans can be tricky if you want to control the fan speed as there aren’t many solutions out there yet, there are some but Lowes doesn’t carry them. Simply turning off and on can be accomplished with the switch noted above.

Thanks for the reply.

What about a panel that has 4 switches? (One switch controls the wall outlet, one switch controls 4 BR 30 Can lights in the ceiling, one switch controls a fan’s light and one switch controls the fan).

You will need to replace each switch that you want to control with ST. Some people on this forum have posted pictures of 5-6 zwave switches all beside each other in one gang box.

If you don’t want to control all 4 switches in your example with ST, then you would leave the existing but replace just a few. As an example, I have a 4 gang box in my foyer that has 2 zwave switches and 2 “dumb” paddle switches.