Simple question - what exactly does it mean integration

Sorry if this seems a basic question, I’m new to SmartThings and trying to decide on what system to buy.

I have some home automation things from various manufacturers, WeMo, DLink cameras, LightwaveRF, Easybulb (Milight/limitless) already.

What does it mean when it states integrated? Does it just mean that the iOS SmartThings app can control it rather than its own app?

Does it mean integrated that the SmartThings app can effect stuff, e.g. If detect motion then switch I lights etc?

Thanks

Different integrations offer different levels of (inter) operability…
The usual intent being to expose the native devices of the integrated system into ST and visa versa as well as bi-directional device state synchronization.
Having stated the intent, various integrations offer all or a subset of the above.

“Fully integrated” would mean that you can set up controls through smartthings that would be able to utilize any of the features of that device.

Say it was a dimmable, color changing light bulb.

If it was fully integrated you would be able to:

A) open the SmartThings app and toggle the bulb on and off, dim it, change the colors

B) set up a different device connected to Smartthings to cause the bulb to do something. A Motion sensor might cause the bulb to turn on. Or opening the closet door might do it. Or even if a flood detector detected a water leak, the bulb might change to red and start blinking. All kinds of possibilities.

C) Open the SmartThings app and do a one time set up so that the bulb would do different things on a schedule. For example, you might set it up to come on every day 15 minutes before sunset. Or you might set it up to gradually wake you up in the mornings by increasing the brightness level every Monday at 6 AM. Again, many different kinds of possibilities.

So with full integration, The bulb becomes one device in a network of devices that you can control multiple ways through SmartThings.