Falling behind on integrations

Smarthings has HAD the great abillity to combine various units from different manufactors, thus creating wonderful setups.

But I am starting to feel that Smartthings is serious falling behind the giant market of integration, where I have experienced the lack of support for units from the most well-known manufactures.

As an example I have an iRobot Roomba vacuum cleaner robot. Roomba is perhaps thee must well-know robot vacuum-cleaner manufacture out there. Does Smartthings support it thus automating house lights on / off during vacuuming, Seems to be a NO. Although IR remote control is fastly disappearing, I still have several items that is controlled via IR like amplifier and BD player. And to facility this I have just bought a Broadlink IR4 unit, does Smartthings support this so it can control my amplifier, LED candle lights or my LED Fireplace, Seems to be a NO.

Smartthings is supporting a huge list of manufactures, but must of them are only know and used by a very few people and must of them only from one specific country.

Smartthings - Come on, get better and get integration with the bigger and more used manufactures out in the big world. Or fall behind and get overrun by some other APP producer. Smartthings got its success due to the vast amount of integration users could create with it, but other systems i.e. Google and Alexa is starting to pass Smartthings and can offer a deeper system.

I might be completely wrong, but as far as I know, integration depends on the manufacturer.
They pay ST to certify their products in the platform.

All other integrations developed by the community is because manufacturer exposes a way to devs interact with devices and develop integrations by themselves.

3 Likes