Set Time For Wake Up routine when the time might change from day to day?

Hello,

I am completely new to home automation and wanted to start with a wake-up routine.
My idea is to use a physical dimmer which I also can access via SmartThings.

At a given time, the lights should start getting brighter and brighter (from 0 - 100%) over a time of 30 minutes and music should start playing while getting increasingly louder.

I think I could do that but the issue is how I can schedule it because I need to get up every day at a different time.

What is the most elegant way to schedule a routine like that?

The requirement is that my girlfriend and I both can set this “alarm”. She uses iOS, I use Android.
Therefore I thought about Alexa which we both could voice control.
After googling how I can set an alarm with Alexa I only found hacky solutions.
Other options that came into my mind were to access a regular alarm set on our phones and 30 minutes prior to the alarm to start the routine. I am not sure whether that works on iOS as well. Maybe the alternative is also to write a small Web App that accesses SmartThings via API? Or is there an entirely different approach?

What way would you recommend?

Thanks
Clemens

1. Create a virtual Switch and make sure it’s visible in Alexa.
  2. Set a routine or automation to do whatever you want, make sure it works the way you want it. (I’d personally use WebCore for what you’re talking about but it could be done with a chained series of automations and scenes.
  3. Set an automation to start the automation whenever the virtual switch is enabled, then turn off the virtual switch.
  4. go into Alexa, create a routine that when an alarm is dismissed, turn on your virtual switch from step 1

If you use google or office 365 calendar you can do some cool stuff through IFTTT to ST.
If you’re game for a challenge for far more flexibility there is nodered w/ the iCal and ST plugins

1 Like

Thanks for the suggestion.