Sending data to Influxdb

logging

(Sebastien Prune) #1

Hi all,

I’ve seen many threads/apps dealing with sending some metrics (temp and humidity sensors) to different backends.
I’m an Influxdb user and would like to create a smartapp to send data into a remote influxdb.

I’m actualy trying to push the data using a plain URL call but I’m not sure it’s really efficient. Also, I’m new to Groovy (while I’m good at python or Go).

IS there any Groovy binding to Influxdb ? Or is it possible to use the Java client within smartthings ?

ROUNDUP: Data Logging and Charting Solutions
(The fish is still dead.) #2

The ST groovy environment is limited in what libaries it can use. You’re not going to be able to import any external libraries. If you can do it with an HTTP/REST call, that’s going to be the way to go. That’s what I’m using to get my data into Logstash and Graphite.

(Sebastien Prune) #3

Thanks @btk
Do you have any smartapp example to show ?
Thanks.

(The fish is still dead.) #4

Sure. Both are linked below. It should be noted that the “Log to Graphite” SmartApp is actually sending its data to a Backstop instance, which then sends it along to Graphite.

(Sebastien Prune) #5

Your code is really clear. I’ll use it to create an Influxdb shipper.
Many thanks !

(Jon Drews) #6

@prune998 did you ever make an Influxdb shipper? I’d like to get my hands on it if so.

(Sebastien Prune) #7

Yes.
I did rework it just 2 days ago… it’s not the best code and may be improved to track any sensor type, but it’s what I have for the moment.

What is the best solution to share the smartapp ?

(Sebastien Prune) #8

I just pusblished the smartApp. Will let you know if/when ST accept to publish it…

(Tintin) #9

Would you be able to ‘publish’ the influxdb shipper here - via Github similar to @btk above - so that we can try earlier than waiting for ST to go through its process - many thanks

(Sebastien Prune) #10

There you go guys. Don’t hesitate to do some pull requests :slight_smile: