Rule Machine: Run rule only once per day

(Preston Todd Bradford) #1

So I’m a Rule Machine noob and still having trouble wrapping my head around the differences between rules and conditions and triggers but I’m enjoying the potential power. I’ve set up a simple rule that says on Monday between 5:30 and 10 PM if the back door opens then open the garage door in the front. Tuesday is trash day so I set the trash out front on Monday. The rule works fine but I would like to have it only run once.
Is there anyway to ask rule machine to only run this trigger rule once if the conditions are met?

(Brian Diehl) #2

You could use a virtual switch.

First Rule:
Have Rule Machine turn the virtual switch on (action) with the back door opening (trigger) between 5:30 and 10 PM (condition), only on Mondays (condition).

Second Rule:
When that virtual switch comes on (trigger), have it open the garage door in the front (action).

Have a rule reset the virtual switch to OFF on Tuesday.

EDIT: Instead of having a separate third rule reset the virtual switch to OFF on Tuesday, you could just use a Delayed OFF in the actions of the second rule, delaying the virtual switch turning OFF by 5 hours (your window is only 4.5 hours, so 5 hours means it won’t shut off and be turned back on the same day).

(Bruce) #3

You can do this with a rule and a trigger:

Rule:
Conditions: back door open, private Boolean true
Rule: back door open AND private Boolean true
Actions for true: open garage door, private Boolean false
Actions for false: [none]
Restrictions: Day of Week: Monday, Time of Day 5:30 PM to 10:00 PM

Trigger:
Events: Certain Time: 1:11 AM
Actions: Rule Boolean [first Rule] true
Restrictions: Day of Week: Monday

The Trigger is just to reset the Private Boolean to true every Monday. This will run once on Monday, max, only when the door opens during the time.

(Preston Todd Bradford) #4