Ridiculously low battery life (Presence Sensors)

Anyone else? I’ve had to change the batteries in these things 3-4 times already, and there’s really no way to tell that the batteries are dead until some expected action doesn’t occur (e.g. I leave the house and it doesn’t set itself to “away”… not good!).

Is anyone work being done to ameliorate the battery life and/or alert the user when the presence tags are running out of juice? I’m not doing this (yet), but if I were relying on ST to lock my door when I left… I wouldn’t be too happy to come home and find my front door unlocked b/c my sensor was dead.

Daniel,
There might be a problem with your Presence Sensor… or I might just have lucky batteries.
I’ve been using my sensor for several months … I’ve misplaced it a few times and have had to use the “beep” function to find it.
Even with this activity, it is still only down to 25%.
At this rate, I expect that I won’t have to change the battery until Spring/Summer.

I’ve be interested to hear how long the batteries are lasting for other users.

i’ve been using one tag since late december (showing 63%) and another tag that i’ve been using for only a week (showing 50%)
something tells me that there is something funky with the battery reporting on these things.
i hope that i won’t have to change the batteries more often than 1-2 a year on these.

i too dont’ trust these to secure my house; battery concerns and the fact they take a long time to sense as “away”. i have a garage door sensor and it usually takes 2-5 minutes between the garage door closing and tag being detected as away…

Mine lasted 4 months on the first set, and only 1 month on the second, my third set is showing 50% after 1 week.