Presence detection using Bluetooth trackers with Raspberry Pi

I’ve been working on a project for a while, and finally got around to cleaning it up and publishing it. While I’ve really simplified the process a lot, it is a bit of a project to setup and is really only for those familiar with things like Raspberry Pi/Node-Red/etc…

The overall design is pretty simple:

• There are any number of Scanners (raspberry Pi devices) that you can place around your house to provide coverage. Each scanner simply reports on what BTLE devices it sees.
  • Processing node which uses a Node-Red flow for each BTLE device you want to monitor.

I’ve created the repo here.

If anyone is interested in giving it a shot, I’d be happy to help and further develop the documentation for it.

1 Like

Looks interesting… there was a similar project using a “scanner” app but I think it was abandoned, so this might make it worthwhile for some people (paging @JDRoberts).

I think I started playing around with a similar solution using Noble and Node, but I’m too lazy to actually tackle a problem that is not like immediately on my face, so I’ll see what I can get out of this. :slight_smile:

1 Like

Yea, I started this last year because I was looking for something “simple”. And I ended up with this!

Feel free to open up any issues on the repo or reach out to me for anything on it. There were a number of challenges I had to work with (some I tried to document). But would be happy to help out. There might be an easier node-red BTLE scanner but I didn’t try any others…

So far (been running for over a year) works great. I have a few pi Zeros around the house doing the scanning, and one doing the actually processing.

1 Like

Can I ask a question…why did you decide to go the MQTT route? Why not a direct call to ST?

It’s actually a clever solution, better than what I was thinking about implementing for micro-location.